How To

How To: Remove Stolen Contacts From Facebook

August 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm

It’s recently been discovered that the world’s largest social network is stealing your contact information from your phone via their Facebook App.  Shocking, I know.  What’s happening is that there is a Facebook Sync in your web settings, which syncs all your contact information with the mobile app.  Facebook doesn’t tell you about this, but just leaves it on by default, and thus all of your contact information is uploaded to their servers.  Even people without Facebook.  Fortunately, for the privacy concerned individual, BGR has come up with a quick and easy solution for you.

  • Visit facebook.com from a PC and log in.
  • in the top-right corner of the screen, click on Account and then Edit Friends.
  • In the menu on the left side of the screen, click on Contacts.
  • Here you’ll find all of your contacts in your Address Book are listed along with their phone numbers.
  • On the right side of the screen, click on the “this page” link.
  • Follow the instructions on this page — you’ll have to disable contact-sync in Facebook’s mobile app if it’s enabled — and click the Remove button.
That should keep any further contacts from being uploaded, and erase the ones that are already there.  All of this information is probably already hidden away on their servers, but it should prevent future damage.
To subscribe, like us on Facebook